KNOWING WHO YOU ARE AND WHAT YOU WANT

Sincerely, in the life of dating and marriage, this is one stuff you’ve got to handle before heading for a date or parrner. It helps you give direction to what you want.

While we grew up as kids, we quite learnt this, but applied it wrongly. We pend down numerous mysterious unrealistic features we needed.

And in humor of how we thought then we say

“You would have to create that bring because he/she doesn’t exist.”

The persons we imagined were too perfect to be humans.

Well…. Join Paul Thomas Bell as he shares on Knowing who we are, and what we want.

    The older we get the more we begin to analyze what we really want in life, at least in my experience. The years of experimentation fade away and we start to consider our decisions with our heads firmly screwed on, perhaps for the very first time. Naturally I believe this applies to relationships just as much as anything else in life. Those three month non-starters and dead-end flings are no longer good enough and more than ever before we ask ourselves, what do I actually want?I don’t really believe in compromise when it comes to relationships. By this I mean our choice of partner. You only live once, what could be worse than a life spent with the wrong person? There’s nothing selfish about being picky, it’s your life after all. If you fear the idea of settling for convenience or choosing the person that suits your family or someone else’s expectations then just don’t ultimately it only has to suit you. Relationships of convenience are a curse in my opinion, I compare it to jobs I’ve had in the past. Steady, comfortable, and nice but completely unremarkable. The ever wonderful Sheldon Cooper once said “Howard is perfectly justified in seeking out the optimum mate for the propagation of his genetic line.” In human terms quite simply, aim high.

    I would never of course try to determine who is the best kind of partner. For some it might be the person with the best job or the flashiest car. Me? I just want a good spoon and some Netflix. Everyone is different. One of my readers messaged me recently asking for advice something which I believe to be a great privilege. I always say if my writing helps even one person then it was worthwhile doing. For this guy, years of being single were taking it’s toll. Online dating, speed dating, blind dates, being set up – every attempt as fruitless as the next. I spent so much time trying to convince this person of his qualities. ‘Convince’ him, I find that so sad. We all have flaws but we should never shy away from acknowledging our qualities, even if it is just privately to ourselves. After all, we should be proud of these traits it’s what makes us good people. To listen to such a genuine person be so self-critical was genuinely quite upsetting, particularly as I know that for every person to ever reject him there are fifty women out there who would kill to be with him. Trying to convince him of this was another story. I tried to make him see that he had just as many qualities as any other guy out there he just needed to believe it and find the right person to appreciate and acknowledge those qualities. I know it will happen for him sooner or later, even if he doesn’t.

    I remember being 19. For the first time I found myself dating someone who I knew (on paper) was way out of my league. With regret I changed for her, I would’ve been anything she wanted me to be. Naturally we grow as people and learn from experience but I can’t help but cringe at the thought of doing that for someone even if I was only 19. Who we are as people is the one permanent fixture we will always have in life until the very day we die, don’t compromise it for the wrong people. No one is worth that. I remember being so lost in this facade of being someone I wasn’t that I would just freeze mid-conversation, not knowing what to do, what to say? What a horrible feeling. To completely lose sight of who you are through your pathetic desperation to be someone else. It was like losing the very foundations of the person I was, who I was brought up to be. I had become nothing and all to impress a girl. Back then I was just a lost teenager but I still see grown adults doing this every single day. If this is you I urge you to stop, take a step back, think about your relationship. Do you really want to live your life like this? Acting?

    Be yourself, have faith, have hope, have confidence, recognize your talents, your qualities, even the gap in your two front teeth. Not everyone will appreciate these things, but someone, somewhere – will. That I promise. As for me, ten years later have I learnt my lesson? Well, someone tried to make me give up writing..

Leave a Reply

